Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

Cant get this thing running

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2015, 02:25 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cant get this thing running

Hello All! I have a 1978 Ford F250 It has an Inline 300 Six in it. I know that these are fairly basic engines. But I am not a mechanic. Here is what I know.... The truck sat for like 6 years. It got it passed down to me. So I wanted to get it going and drive it. So I took it to a shop and said... Get it running.... And they DID.... Barely... It ran like **** and he said I had one cylinder that had broken rings, and the best thing would be to rebuild the engine. So ok... We talked about it and he said, It would still be fine for dump runs and hauling the occasional load of dirt or rocks. So, I took it home. (Drove it Actually) It was obvious it needed some other things done... I put a new starter on it... New exhaust manifold.. And it still needs an exhaust installed. Also I took the Single barrel carburetor down and had it rebuilt. So now..... I cant get this thing to run.. It turns over a million times.. natta.. Sometimes it will backfire back up the carb. sounds like a shotgun!! LOUD. I thought rebuilding the carb would help. but it seems to be acting the same as before I did anything.
The mechanic said my plugs and wires looked good. They replaced the fuel pump and filter.
Ive double checked the firing order.. Its all good. Its a new battery...

So what else??? Theirs just not much to these engines.. So it has to be something simple. Would the broken ring problem really cause it to act this way? I would think that it should still start up good. And it would just not be running great with the ring situation.
Any thoughts??
Old 01-21-2015, 09:27 PM

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

Its got fuel... if its blowing back out the carb then at least one plug is firing but at the wrong time.