Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

86 F150 XL need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2014, 01:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 86 F150 XL need some advice

hey guys, as the title states I am in need of some advice.
Just bought a F150 XL inline 6 4spd manual trans
This is the first truck I have ever owned and I have been having pretty crappy luck lately...

I will start by saying I am a certified auto repair tech, and mechanically inclined so I am up for the challenges this truck will have for me, I am somewhat excited, mostly overwhelmed at this point though...

I have had a few other cars in the past between me and my girlfriend.
95 Honda Prelude, Engine currently being rebuilt by myself
99 ford taurus, junked crapped out on me before i bought this truck
94 oldsmobile cutlass cruiser with 62,000 original miles, great car but my girlfriends DD

NOW to the F150 i just bought.
I bought it for $630 last week
bought it for the intent of a DD for myself, not looking to be so reliable though.

I have never worked on trucks before, I am a certified mechanic but never worked in the field, I work in auto body shops, and took the class for a hobby. I am certified in both fields.... I am not to familiar with carburetor setups, they were not discussed as in depth in our class as fuel injection was. seeing that fuel injection is whats used today... I do have basic knowledge though.

Problem #1
biggest problem I am having, and hoping someone hear knows the answer to is this. I get this loud grinding/scraping noise when in gear and accelerating. To explain further, it only seems to happen in 2nd and 3rd, maybe 1st but very quietly. But then completely goes away in 4th gear. quiet as anything...