Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

1986 F150 300 Issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2016, 09:02 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1986 F150 300 Issues

Hi All,

I just joined the forum as I am looking at an 86 F150 with a 300/C6 in it and as I have never owned a Ford before I have some questions I'm hoping to get guidance on before I pull the trigger. Also, just a disclaimer, I'm mildly handy under the hood and not afraid to pick up a manual and but I'm no mechanic by any possible definition. Just as context I'm looking at this as a hunting/firewood/drywall hauler not an everyday driver.

First off, I've read about the Dreaded Feedback Carb and am aware that one can't just swap it (and hope for good performance). However, the 300 in this truck is allegedly from a '79. It has what looks to be a stock/OEM carb and the original ignition in it but, there are disconnected wires and snipped vacuum lines everywhere. The truck actually idles fines (better than my 87 Ram did) and drives around at half throttle with no issues. However at WOT it will rev, not shift into 2nd and then kind of backfire. If you let of the gas it up shifts fine and keeps chugging. But it doesn't really want to shift up into 3rd even at ~50mph.

Other info: It has ~149K on it, the 4x4 works great, frame and bed are solid, it has a broken speedo/odo cable or gear, there's a pretty mean oil leak in the front of the engine, tires are decent. It's inspected for a couple more months and the guy wants $1500 for it. I'd be willing to put a couple hundred and some time into it but not thousands of dollars and a year.

I guess I'm looking for 1) thoughts on the old engine with the 86 ignition and 2) is that shifting problem related to a vacuum line not properly hooked up or something more serious that may require a new/rebuilt tranny 3) does it sound like a money pit or good investment.