Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

1978 charging problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2015, 08:03 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 1978 charging problems

Heyo, I've been doing as much as I can for a 1978 f150 6.6L standard cab short bed 4×4. I redid almost all the braking system. Replaced oil seals in the transfer case, transmission, and engine, replaced most of the bushings, tires, and shocks. I also got a new starter, solenoid, all the wiring, a few batteries, and 3 alternators. None of them charge. The truck was in bad shape when I got it and is just now almost a reliable vehicle.
My guess is, when the alternator blew, it blew the fuse to the charging system(that's the only possibility I can think of that I haven't done.). I was wondering if anyone knows exactly what fuses my truck takes. Most of them are missing and i got to replace them. Or any other ideas? Battery just isn't charging.
Old 06-25-2015, 10:19 PM

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

well first thing to do would be a lighted check, disconnect all the wires from the positive side (including any on the solenoid) and start checking for a draw with the vehicle off and key out. then follow the wires if theres a draw. some common things that can go bad and cause the battery to short out are the old AM filters (looks like a small cylinder about the size of a pinky finger) or the horn relay (an unmarked box attached to the fender with 3 wires)
Old 06-26-2015, 03:35 AM
vertical pin buster

Received 41 Likes on 41 Posts

sounds like a bad voltage regulator. 2 1/2 x 2 1/2 metal box bolted to the passenger side fender between the solenoid and the fire wall. most likely that's your problem
Old 06-26-2015, 06:19 AM

Received 28 Likes on 22 Posts