Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

1976 F150 Rebuild Question?

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2016, 04:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1976 F150 Rebuild Question?

So me and my dad are taking on the task of rebuilding his old 76. It has a 5.9L 360 V8 in it currently, but my dad is thinking he wants an I6 in it instead. Is this at all possible? I haven't been able to find any that are supposed to fit. If so, any suggestions on a specific one to get or a place to look? I'm not an expert and neither is he so please don't tear me up on this, just wondering if we can consider that option. Thanks.
Old 03-28-2016, 10:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you really want to go from the V8 to the I6 you should run an ad somewhere for a trade. Most people want to go from the 6 to the V8 so they'd jump at the chance to swap parts with you. The 360-390(FE) platform is very popular so I'd try and find someone with a 300 I6 truck that wants a big block. You're gonna have to drill out the rivets and change the frame perches, swap the radiators, throttle linkage, bellhousing (M/T) or the whole transmission if yours is an automatic as the 360 has the big block bolt pattern and the 6 uses the small block pattern. You'll also need the 6-cylinder ignition module off the fender because it's different from a V8, and you'll have to swap the exhaust systems out. A lot of work for a 6 but if that's what you want it shouldn't be that hard to achieve.
Old 03-30-2016, 02:34 AM

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

First let me ask why he would want to swap? I love the 6 but I don't know that I'd swap backwards like that...big expense, big project and the 360 is a good motor. If you're thinking MPG, it's really not going to get a whole lot better, and the money you'd possibly save will be burnt doing the swap.