Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Too much oil

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2009, 02:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Too much oil

Hey everyone, this is my first post although I've been lurking for a few months. I bought my first ever truck a few months ago, a 2000 F150 5.4L V8. Well, anyways, I decided to do my first oil change today since I have no idea when it was last done before I bought it, and the oil looked a little dirty. Also, when I checked the dipstick, the stick was covered with oil WAY past the MAX marker. Manual shows oil capacity at 6 quarts, so thats what I purchased....

So I unscrew the oil pan drain plug and the oil comes out.....keeps coming....keeps coming..... 11 quarts! I had to scramble to not overflow the catch pan I was using, and had to find more containers to put the old oil into.

Am I missing something? I am new to performing my own maintenance on my vehicles, but I'm not an idiot. Seems like the truck runs better with 6 quarts in it also. Should I be concerned about any damage caused with that much extra oil? Any input would help. Thanks in advance!
Old 08-10-2009, 04:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

its not good fore them but if it was going to damage something it probably would of done it by now. i would keep an eye on the oil level and water because if it gets fuller the more you drive it,it could be water or gas getting in if its water that will get lower either one is very bad but hopefully they just over filled it.
Old 08-10-2009, 05:07 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts