Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

New guy rear pinion question

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2016, 08:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy rear pinion question

Hi all. I am new to the whole online forum thing so i hope i am posting this in the right spot. I am a long time f150 forum stalker.

To make a long story short, I know there are a lot of post on the torque requirements for the rear pinion nut on the 2004-2008 f150s. None quite answer what i need. My vehicle is a 2006 f150 4wd xlt super cab 5.4l with heavy duty payload package. Today i had a leak coming from rear pinion seal. I didnt want to drive it as i knew it had been leaking for a few days but was significantly worse when i got to work this morning. I had a coworker take me to get the seal, and the 75-140 weight gear oil and i replaced the seal before i left work. In doing so i did a quick read on a post here and torqued the pinion nut to 160ft-lbs. and put it all back together.

Going back now i am seeing posts and info i had not seen before on finding the rotational torque to turn the wheels (in in/lbs) and torquing the nut in 5 lb increments to get that set back to what it was pre-seal repair to have the bearing preload set correctly.

So now i am having second guesses on this repair and i am wondering Is what i did completely wrong and can i expect my rear end to grenade now?
Old 10-29-2016, 07:17 PM

Received 140 Likes on 99 Posts