Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

lower ball joints

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2008, 12:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default lower ball joints

I just put on a 1.5" leveling kit on the truck and went to go get it aligned and noticed the the lower ball joints are shot and said that there is no way to get it aligned with bad ball joints And also said that i would need new casters (Has the stock ones on there) but my question is he said it would be around $600. Im not a mechanic but im almost positive that thats to much. i can get all the parts i need for around $180 $200 range and do it myself but will still have to take it in to get it aligned. so would it be worth it to get the ball joints done at the shop or do it myself.

Thanks
Old 12-02-2008, 01:18 PM
Redneck engineerin'

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

I just had mine done this fall. I had to get both upper and lower ball joints and new control arms. I had the shop do it for $1000. This included and alignment. I have a 97 4x4 ext cab. Don't know how hard to change, looked like a pain in the a** but I know it can be done. An alignment is probably $100 of that cost.
Old 12-02-2008, 01:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yeah The guy said that the alignment would be $60 and the new casters would be $50 and i know i could get the casters alot cheaper the that but i dont know.
Old 12-02-2008, 07:51 PM
Bleeds FORD Blue

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts