Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Hi, new here with questions about F150-150k mile service visit!

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2013, 11:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi, new here with questions about F150-150k mile service visit!

I am new to owning a Ford truck, also new to preventative maintenance and service visits.
I have an 05 F150 Supercrew Fx4 V8 with a little under 160k, and I've had it since around 152k, so I need some service!
I do not know anyone who could help me with the little easy things but I am friends with one of the dealership techs, so I don't think I'm going to get completely bent over on my service.

The service manager recommends:
Oil Change
Air Filter
Fuel Filter
Service Trans
Differentials
Transfer Case
Belts
Coolant Flush
Pwr Steering/Brake
Clean intake/throttle body

The guy told me worst case I'm looking at around 1700$ for the entire visit.

In a perfect world I'd be able to afford that, but I just cant! I've already done 500$ for brakes and an oil change when I first got it, and then new tires (which it needed badly) last week to the tune of 895$.

Is this something I can do incrementally over the next few months? I just got the truck last august, so I am not sure what has been done most recently, but I talked to the previous owner and he says it is most likely time to take care of the differentials and transfer case.

What is absolutely most important on that list that I should tend to first?