Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

Help needed

Old 03-22-2015, 08:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help needed

Help needed-image-1087592021.jpg

Had low oil pressure. I checked the level and it didn't register on the stick. I am in the time frame for an oil change but had not done it yet. I added oil and still had low pressure. I pulled the oil pan to check the pick up tube, it looks clean. I noticed the gear in the photo. It is in front of the oil pump and timing chain. Looks to be missing a tooth. What is this gear and what does it drive?
Old 03-22-2015, 09:32 PM

Received 6,199 Likes on 4,672 Posts

Sherman tank engine? Maybe a space shuttle prototype engine? Escalator drive?

Think............
Old 03-22-2015, 09:50 PM

I'm not a mechanic I have no idea what that gear is for. I would prefer actual help not smart *** comments.
Old 03-22-2015, 10:23 PM

Received 6,199 Likes on 4,672 Posts

Originally Posted by forrestsw
I'm not a mechanic I have no idea what that gear is for. I would prefer actual help not smart *** comments.
Take a close look at what you posted. Do you honestly think anyone can try to determine anything that might help you?

Might as well post a picture of an etcha-sketch and ask how to fix a crooked line.

Nothing smartass about it, we wish to help but can't because you have not provided any specific information...

Or do you expect the intarweb to be staffed with mind readers? Help us help YOU.
Old 03-22-2015, 11:08 PM

As I said in my original post. The gear is in front of the timing chain and oil pump. Inside the crank case. Someone who know 5.4 V8 will know what the picture is.
Old 03-23-2015, 03:42 PM

Received 33 Likes on 27 Posts