Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

98 4.6 4x4 5spd help

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2009, 06:07 PM

Received 5 Likes on 1 Post
Default 98 4.6 4x4 5spd help

I am new to ford. This is the first Ford anything I've drove. Always had Z28s nothing else. My truck was a very appreciated gift from my father n law. It has a new long block crate engine just installed but the accessories except the alternator was from original motor (150k). I am trying to learn the truck and diagnose the problems at the same time. With that being said, alot of this stuff is alien to me. So I guess here is the best place to start.

1. Awful powersteering pump whine, not just a whine it's not working unless I keep my rpm's up. The belt is tight and the pulley isn't next to resovoir so where is it? The fluid smells burnt. 150k miles. Possible fluid change? Bleeding maybe? Really open to suggestions as parking lots is a PAIN.

2. There is always a puddle of water underneath whether I run Ac/heat or not. I've tried to trace and the majority of it is coming off the O2 sensor? Condensation? Got me puzzled.

3. I think I need a battery or starter. The voltmeter gauge is setting in the middle with key on but bottoms out while cranking. And it's a slow crank. While running though it's 3/4 of the way up give or take. Runs fine. Just after it sits for a while it's back to the slow crank. So load test the battery before looking at starter?

4. Idling is eratic at times. Whenever I go from a gear to nuetral it takes forever it seems for the rpms to drop to about 1500. To me it seems like thats a fast idle. it bounces from there to around 1200 sometimes. Cleaning MAF sensor maybe?