Topic Sponsor
Maintenance Shop Keep your Ford F150 truck running strong. Discuss all things maintenance here.

05 5.4L spark plugs

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2009, 02:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 5.4L spark plugs

My truck is an 05FX4, with the 5.4L engine.It has at 105,000 miles, and the maintenance guide recomends changing the spark plugs. The local dealership wants $500 to change them, and said that for everyone the break off in the head, it costs an additional $90! Is this something I can tackle myself? If so how do I keep from breaking them, and what do I do if some do break off? I am no mechanic, but my father and I are no strangers to working on vehicles. Are there any special tools I will need? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 12-10-2009, 03:32 AM
VanoFord2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by sgt_guidry
My truck is an 05FX4, with the 5.4L engine.It has at 105,000 miles, and the maintenance guide recomends changing the spark plugs. The local dealership wants $500 to change them, and said that for everyone the break off in the head, it costs an additional $90! Is this something I can tackle myself? If so how do I keep from breaking them, and what do I do if some do break off? I am no mechanic, but my father and I are no strangers to working on vehicles. Are there any special tools I will need? Any help would be greatly appreciated.