Topic Sponsor
2015 - 2020 Ford F150 General discussion on the 13th generation Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Time Level and 33" Tires

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2015, 06:31 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default First Time Level and 33" Tires

Hi All,

I have a question regarding a 2015 F150, a 2.5" Rough Country level, and 33" Trail Grapplers. Since this is my first time leveling a truck and putting aftermarket tires/wheels on one, I do not know what's normal vs. what is not.

After putting the level kit on, I've noticed what appears to be a small drone or metal on metal contact/high pitch vibration coming through the gas pedal and steering wheel. It's considerably noticeable while going over rougher pavement.

I understand how the level kit works and what it did to my struts, but what I don't know is if the increased compression of the suspension is supposed to be felt through the wheel and gas pedal.

If this is normal, would something like the Fox 2.5 Coilover system help or eliminate this issue?

Thanks in advance!
Old 09-25-2015, 06:35 PM
T_R

Received 262 Likes on 184 Posts

You are putting all the suspension joints and the CV joints at angles they were not designed to operate at. So yes some NVH is normal.

Coilovers wouldn't make a difference, everything is still at the same angle.

A lower leveling kit might help.
The following users liked this post:
DarthGator14 (09-25-2015)
Old 09-25-2015, 06:38 PM
F250>F150

Received 917 Likes on 483 Posts

Originally Posted by DarthGator14
Hi All,

I have a question regarding a 2015 F150, a 2.5" Rough Country level, and 33" Trail Grapplers. Since this is my first time leveling a truck and putting aftermarket tires/wheels on one, I do not know what's normal vs. what is not.