Topic Sponsor
Painting and Body Work Discuss any body work or painting issues here.

Paint scratches

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2013, 11:46 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Paint scratches

Any help on repairing paint scratches? Some are pretty deep. Any recommended products? I don't have pics, but the truck looked good at first glance. I took it home gave it a good detailing and then I found scratches and swirls on almost every panel. The dealership touched up some spots that I found prior to purchase, but they used that crappy touch up paint that doesn't even match the color. Also, I don't have a buffer or da sander. Please help.
Old 12-24-2013, 10:35 PM

Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts

For the new hobbyist, I always suggest the Meguiars line of products given price point and availability. I'm still a hobbyist but have branched out in recent years to other products based on experience and need.

A good start is Meguiars Ultimate Compound. Love this stuff. A bottle can be had for about $12. Not your Dad's compound of rocks in a bottle....more of a stout polish using Meguiars' micro abrasive technology. Check YouTube....tons of vids showing what it can do. Check Autogeek for their online training info as well.

As for a DA...think about saving up. You can get a Porter Cable for about $100 if you catch a sale. Well worth a few beer-less weekends to save your arms.....and the result is better overall.

I pulled this graphic from the Autogeek website showing various products from an aggressiveness standpoint.

Also, even a phone pic can help us eval further steps...
Attached Thumbnails Paint scratches-image-1024592597.jpg  
Old 12-25-2013, 08:25 AM

Received 196 Likes on 163 Posts

Wink