Topic Sponsor
Engine / Drivetrain Talk 6 or 8 Cylinders? Come talk about it.

PI swap on 97 f150 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2015, 11:24 PM

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Default PI swap on 97 f150 4x4

Ok, I've just about got everything together to do the PI swap I've been threatening to do for close to a year. My last few questions revolve around the intake. I'm upgrading to 85mm mass and 24# injectors. The 70 mm TB from a 5.4 would also be an upgrade on my 4.6, yes? Are the plenums from the 4.6 and the 5.4 the same, or should I be using the 5.4's plenum as well? I thank y'all in advance for Ur time and input.

P.S. I've been given a pair of shorty headers. I know the consensus is that shorties are no great advantage over stock, but FREE is cheaper than tracking down some PI manifolds. Thoughts?
Old 11-24-2015, 11:06 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm fairly new to the Triton motors, but it seems I read that the block deck height is different on the 4.6 and the 5.4. That would mean you need a 4.6 plenum on a 4.6 motor and a 5.4 plenum on a 5.4.

I think you would lose a lot of low end and mid range with the 85MM throttle body based on my experience with that size motor of another manufacturer. Go for the 70MM TB, leave the injectors alone, and get a programmer.

If you are going to all the trouble to do the head work, might as well add a 5.4 shortblock to those heads.......
Old 12-05-2015, 01:26 AM

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts