Topic Sponsor
Tires, Wheels and Suspension "How-To" articles pertaining to the Tires, Wheels and Suspension of an F150.

Steering component replacement

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2012, 01:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Steering component replacement

New poster please be gentle!

I need to replace my tie rods, drag link and other components. I have never attempted this type of project before, but due to economics, I have to do it myself. Is there an online step by step guide available as a resource? I can muddle my way through it but then I tend to either try to cut corners or take unnecessary steps. I plan on having pros align it after the parts are installed.

Any and all help and suggestions are welcome.

I am not a mechanic but I have enough tools, logic, understanding, and determination to attempt and ultimately fix anything on this truck.
Old 01-23-2013, 09:42 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

you do know you will need an alignment when finished right?
Old 01-23-2013, 09:45 PM
Chris

Received 63 Likes on 58 Posts

youtube and google can help out. also doing a search on any of these truck forums will lead you to HOW-TO on all sorts of installs.
Old 01-23-2013, 09:53 PM

just realized this was an old post....my bad
Old 01-23-2013, 09:55 PM
It's a Canadian thing eh!

Received 195 Likes on 188 Posts

This is an old post lol. But here is for those who want it done.

I did mine this past summer. Easy if you have the right tools.

Jack up the front end and use jack stands. Unlock the steering wheel (leave the key in). remove the front tires(optional but makes it easier). remove the cotter pins from the tie rod bolts, drag link ad to the steering box.

Loosen the bolts off and use a pickle ford to loosen the tie rods out of the knuckle or hammer the ends up, then the drag link to the steering box. Easy to drop it into one assembly.