Thermostat Change - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Thermostat Change

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2009, 08:02 PM   #1
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Simpsonville,SC
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thermostat Change

Hey guys,
Thermostat not working properly, will move alittle , but mainly stays on cold. Going to change out, Any special things to know before starting?
THANKS
mavdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 09:42 PM   #2
No Pain, No Pain!
5 Year Member
 
dewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 4,825
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Nothing special I can think of, just make sure you install the t-stat in the proper direction or the antifreeze won't flow at all. Good luck!
dewman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 11:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 67
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did this in my 94 I6 last fall. I was worried that the temp only went up to the O in normal on the gauge. I installed the new thermostat and there was no change. Ive heard that it is normal for the temp needle to hardly move. My heat works fine so I guess its normal.
Carbuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 03:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jcgonzal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

make sure you clean the gasket surfaces well and probably will need to use silicone to seal it up properly. i DIDN'T do this, and will have to take it apart again to stop the slow leak.
jcgonzal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 07:40 AM   #5
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Simpsonville,SC
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the replies, The needle barley moves off the cold, it goes up slightly, then drops all the way back. Should i even change it if everything is working properly?
mavdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 11:07 AM   #6
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Henderson, NV.
Posts: 4,639
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Default

If your truck has a radiator cap on the radiator instead of expansion tank, open it up and see if it flows coolant all the time. Should go in cycles if t-stat is opening and closing. No cap makes it harder, need to remove t-stat and look at it physically. As mentioned earlier the temp element whether a spring or a pellet has to go into the engine away from the radiator.
Good old Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 12:42 PM   #7
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 68
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i've done quite a few of thermostats and never used silicone just a new gasket which they should give u when u buy a new thermostat...just make sure to clean all old gasket off, on thermostat housing and on motori use a blade to do it, be very careful not to groove into the metaland all should be well...on my 5.8l i remove belt and idler pulley to get better access to the thermostat
dkitt10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 11:44 PM   #8
KickAss Member
 
93f-1504x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when i did mine on my 5.0 i used silicone. even though it came with a gasket, i used it just to be safe. havent had a leak yet and i didnt have to remove any belts or pulleys for better access. i like gms style intake better with the thermostats on top of the intake manifold rather than on the side. just think its a better design.
93f-1504x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 12:35 PM   #9
gr8dane
 
gr8dane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mission Viejo, Ca
Posts: 129
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you might already have an aftermarket t-stat on there. I have a 180 degree t-stat on mine and it barely moves from cold. is this a recent issue or has it always been that way?
gr8dane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 02:24 PM   #10
Rollin'
 
L.Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 199
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mavdad View Post
Thanks for the replies, The needle barley moves off the cold, it goes up slightly, then drops all the way back. Should i even change it if everything is working properly?

I took out my thermostat on my '96 about 60k miles ago. Still runs great. the only problem is that i can't run my heater. It doesn't get hot enough to be useful.

I live in south texas so i dont need a heater anyway. There is only two seasons here, Summer and Hell
L.Jimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABS light, Brake light, Check Brake System and anti skid indicators on analog readout jgriffinemt 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 9 12-02-2016 10:26 PM
Fluids Change goldenjmu 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 12 09-16-2015 01:19 PM
Long drives, temp gauge, radiator, coolant... mbarr101 1987 - 1996 F150 11 09-14-2015 10:33 PM
I think I found my next truck, but a couple of questions... biscuit141 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 12 09-10-2015 04:25 PM
Change out wood dash/door trim on Lariat jjyoung500 Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation 3 09-07-2015 06:18 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com