resetting the computer - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



resetting the computer

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2007, 12:08 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default resetting the computer

how important is it to reset the computer after making changes? I am getting poor mpg arount 8 to 10 hwy and city. i changed plugs wires dist cap fotor button o2 sensor air filter and st the timing 10 deg btc.

truck runs good but still appears to be running rich, burns a lot of fuel and exhaust smells like unburnt fuel. the one thing i havent done is try to reset the computer
TEDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 12:25 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm not familiar with the '90 in particular, but most newer Ford engines have a gray plug in a wiring harness connector (called a Spout Connector) that needs to be removed before setting the timing. Did you do that? Also, the computer relearns the fuel corrections within 80 miles or so on it's own if the engine is running right. I would double check everything then troubleshoot for a rich condition plus check the KOER codes, if you can do that on your model engine/EEC.
bluesman2333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 12:50 PM   #3
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i did remove the spout connector, i havent driven it hardly at all approx 20 miles.

i have no clue as to how the get the codes. i assumed since the check engine light has never come on there would be no codes to get
TEDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
wde3477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cape Girardeau MO
Posts: 2,513
Thanks: 0
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
Default

The computer has some adaptive learning modes. Resetting the computer removes any learned adjustments and restores the default parameters. This is a different than resetting any fault codes that may be stored in memory.

If there is not an active code (the 'check engine' light is not On), then there will be no 'limp home' strategies in effect, no matter which faults are stored in historical memory.

Not sure how much adaptive learning was done on our vintage of truck. At any rate, the computer should eventually re-learn its way back to where it should be.

However, pulling the ground cable off the battery for about 20-30 minutes effectively 'zeroes' the computer offsets, and hopefully results in a shorter, faster learning curve.
wde3477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 02:00 PM   #5
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the input, i will give it a shot
TEDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 05:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
ma94xlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Columbus GA 31909
Posts: 481
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

oops,, read post,, seen 02 were repaced..

What about the ECT?? check it out,, when engine is warm test OHM's on it, to determine if its good..

Last edited by ma94xlt; 11-27-2007 at 05:15 PM.
ma94xlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 09:46 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I forgot to mention that on my 4.9, the timing mark was for the probe not a timing light. I had to find TDC then make a mark on the damper with a cold chisel so I could use my timing light. I had a Chevy once that had spun the damper so every time I checked timing I had to make a new mark with a felt tip pen! Verifying the mark might be good for you to.
bluesman2333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 11:27 AM   #8
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, i had to make a mark because my dampner had moved.

i dont mean to be stupid but what is the ECT?
TEDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 12:01 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ECT= coolant sensor that feeds the PCM or ECM. It tells the computer how warm the engine is so it knows how much fuel to give. If this engine is fuel injected, you can do an injector leak down test to see if it's a bad injector. Re-pulling the plugs at this point might reveal a sooty plug helping you localize it to one cylinder too.
bluesman2333 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want my fog lights to stay on with high beam lights tazmanken 2015 - Present Ford F150 23 02-02-2016 10:00 PM
Fuel Totalizer Error? todd92 2015 - Present Ford F150 11 10-02-2015 04:55 PM
New to Forum Ironman5800 Introductions 3 10-02-2015 02:19 PM
KM to Empty gauge not working. Gianni76 General F150 Discussion 1 09-30-2015 11:38 PM
Mass Air Conversion kit M-9000-L58 parts Johnboy151a Electrical 0 09-25-2015 11:19 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com