R12 Pressure & Recharge Question... - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



R12 Pressure & Recharge Question...

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2012, 07:25 PM   #1
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
fast_eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ponte Vedra, FL
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default R12 Pressure & Recharge Question...

I wasn't planning on messing with the AC, but I stumbled upon some Freeze-12 and I figure it wouldn't hurt (as the AC has blown cool a few times, but never cold). I figure the first thing I have to do is check the pressure in the system. If I have one of these hoses standard tapping hoses:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/R12-FREON-RE...#ht_500wt_1180

Can I just buy a regular low-port gauge to hook up to the hose to check pressure on the low side port? Just can't afford one of the fancy gauge sets for this and was hoping I could take care of it with one of these plugged in:

http://www.autozone.com/autozone/acc...er=952360_0_0__


I've used the self-charge kits on my cars before, but they already had a gauge built in... just not sure if it buying one of these gauges will work or not...
fast_eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:11 PM   #2
Just call me sean. Really
5 Year Member
 
mustangGT90210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Sarasota area, Florida
Posts: 5,030
Thanked 47 Times in 41 Posts
Default

I don't think it is legal to sell R12 anymore... You have to convert to R134a as far as I know
mustangGT90210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 603
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

it is legal but you have to be certified to do so. the kits they sell at stores are r-134a and at one point they were talking about switching to r-512. a/c is a closed system so if it needs a recharge then it has a leak and needs fixed. i think there is a DIY kit that has a dye in it so you can find the leak. unless you got the specialized tools you might need to take it somewhere
4wheeldevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:41 PM   #4
Springer Spaniels Rule
 
dirtcrew51m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Milltown, NJ
Posts: 3,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Yes the hose should work, the gauge is made to go onto a manifold, you could do it without a gauge, just put a little in at a time until you reach the desired temp, if you add freon and the air is still warm, you might have another problem.
dirtcrew51m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:23 PM   #5
Hi-Rev Motorsports
5 Year Member
 
dr_bowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
Default

Freeze-12 is just like the Artic-r134 as it adds Synthetic oil.... adding more oil isnt ever a good thing...unless its low on oil


If you have enough oil and you add more then the Freon cant effectively dissipate the heat...so you want to guess where the heat goes?

Thats right... in the cabin with you
dr_bowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 09:48 AM   #6
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
fast_eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ponte Vedra, FL
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Im not asking about freeze12, r12, r134a, or the hose. Everything I have will work with my current r12 system. My only question is if anyone has experience using the kind of manifold gauge pictured in the link with a can tapping r12 hose. Of course it can be done without a gauge... But I sure would like to know how much pressure is in the system first, and as stated I don't want to buy the full manifold gauge set.
fast_eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:36 PM   #7
Off road rebel
 
94Brodyf150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Harbor freight has a nice cheap set. You can also get a vacuum pump for around 50 bucks. DIY a/c machine.
94Brodyf150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:48 PM   #8
Hi-Rev Motorsports
5 Year Member
 
dr_bowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast_eddy View Post
Im not asking about freeze12, r12, r134a, or the hose. Everything I have will work with my current r12 system. My only question is if anyone has experience using the kind of manifold gauge pictured in the link with a can tapping r12 hose. Of course it can be done without a gauge... But I sure would like to know how much pressure is in the system first, and as stated I don't want to buy the full manifold gauge set.
if you need to know then buy a proper gauge set so you can check the low side and high side... Harbor Freight sells a nice set and they are not expensive...

you dont really need a gauge to fill the system unless you want to check the variation between the high side and low side... this will tell you if the compressor is worn or the screen is partially clogged...not much more


to fill it so it operates to the COLDEST temps fill it just until the compressor does NOT cycle when your cruising down the highway around 55mph... it will cycle when you hit the coldest temps around 35 or just under... but if you can sustain 40 and the compressor not cycle at cruise speed its full enough...

If it isnt cycling not (not low ) do NOT add more... you can Hydraulic the pump and snap the belts and/or explode the compressor...

Freon gets the COLDEST at the LOWEST low side pressure and not cycle the pump... more presure does NOT = colder it ='s warmer... its opposite
dr_bowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 09:18 AM   #9
Member
5 Year Member
Thread Starter
 
fast_eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ponte Vedra, FL
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

That makes sense. I just would like to start by knowing the actual pressure at the low side and was wondering if the posted hose and gauge could get me there. I'm just not sure if I should roll the dice on a meter that may or may not work when, as mentioned, I could get the whole setup fairly cheap.
fast_eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:17 AM   #10
Hi-Rev Motorsports
5 Year Member
 
dr_bowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 0
Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts
Default

the threads are different on the Autonzone gauge... thats a gauge for the gauge set... not for the hose you listed
dr_bowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can an aftermarket oil sending unit be used on factory gauge? Pretired 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 13 10-03-2015 01:02 AM
PLEASE HELP! Any ideas greatly appreciated!!! 98BlackLariat Maintenance Shop 3 10-01-2015 10:25 AM
Anyone Familiar with the late 80's S1900 International? mr7confused Off-Topic 0 10-01-2015 03:44 AM
5.4L w/P0012 (VCTADV = 49 and VCTADV2= 0) KwitcherBitchin 5.4L 0 09-30-2015 10:09 PM
Fuel pressure regulator bad? 89straight6auto Drivetrain 1 09-29-2015 12:29 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com