Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Passenger side axle removal

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2010, 02:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Passenger side axle removal

'94 F150 4x4
I'm a newbie here, and have been searching for past posts, but haven't found my complete answer. I'm doing my ball joints/u-joint replacements.
I have the right side hub disassembled and spindle off.
And want to remove the right side axle shaft in one assembly.
Does it just pop out of the diff? or do I have to separate it at the slider spline?
Some posts talk about a clip inside the diff holding it in and separating it at the slider spline. If so, how do you replace the inner U-joint if needed?

If that inner u-joint is okay, I'm cool with leaving it in--I guess. Don't really want to open up the diff.

Tom
Old 05-22-2010, 05:54 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

The only way to pull it is to open the differential and remove a clip. If the inner u-joint is okay, I'd leave it too.
Old 05-22-2010, 08:42 PM

Originally Posted by rtg143
The only way to pull it is to open the differential and remove a clip. If the inner u-joint is okay, I'd leave it too.
I found out myself, the standard way is to remove the clip from the boot and pull the slider apart. Very easy. Guy I talked to said the middle U-joint rarely needs replacing.
Old 01-28-2011, 06:28 PM

Default right side axle shaft

my right side axle shaft with two u-joints the inner one is seased up how do i get it out of the differential 1994 f-150 4x4
Old 01-28-2011, 06:52 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by joelight
my right side axle shaft with two u-joints the inner one is seased up how do i get it out of the differential 1994 f-150 4x4