Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

New owner, new (to me) truck, a few issues

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2016, 09:02 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default New owner, new (to me) truck, a few issues

Hi folks,

I'm new here. I'm from Scotland but I'm living in Quebec for a while. I wanted to take the opportunity to own a proper truck because the pickups we get in the UK are tiny in comparison, so I got my hands on a '94 F150 5.0 4x4 auto. It has 177,000 kms on it, I got it for $3000 CAD.

Overall, it's in pretty good condition but it does have a few issues. I've searched around and come to a few conclusions about the things that might be wrong, but I have yet to pull the fault codes. I'm completely new to these trucks, engines and transmissions!
  1. Speedo needle wobbles a bit, and sometimes dies completely - VSS?
  2. When warm, it will reach much higher revs than it should before it will start moving forward. Changes into 2nd and 3rd gears are also quite violent - E4OD tranny, MLPS?
  3. Also when warm and having sat for 30 minutes or so, it will crank a lot longer before the engine starts, along with a fuel smell - Vacuum leak?

Those are the main issues. It also pulls to the left a bit under braking but that's a pretty standard issue to deal with. There is also a slight leak from the transfer case.

I'm not sold on the colour but what swung me was the fact it has barely any rust which is a rare thing in these parts. Vehicles this age around here are usually on their last legs, if they haven't already died!

Here's some photos...