Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Need drastic help

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2015, 08:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need drastic help

Hello all, first post on this forum. Learned a lot so far, but I'm new to engines in general.

I have a 1996 f150, 302 5.0 v8.

I changed the spark plugs today, and I believe I did all of that properly. I changed each one one at a time, so i believe there is a minimal chance I crossed the wires. I started it once about halfway through and it ran just fine- slightly better actually.

I decided just for kicks and giggles I would bump the timing up a tad.
I have never done this before, but I read some basic guides and i went to my local oreilly's. Turns out, they dont rent timing lights, you have to buy them. I decided to do it by ear (sort of) and so I came home.

I got under the hood, and I disconnected the battery and the spout connector. I loosened the bolt for the distributor a little too much, and as I rotated the distributor ever so slightly, it sort of came back. I did it again to where I believe it would be advanced very minimally, then tightened it back down.
(I did all of this with the engine off, I feel like this is a key point but maybe it isn't. I'm not sure.)
I put spout back in, and connected the battery.

I started the truck and it idled around 1100, and sounded better. I revved it up to about 3000, and as I let off the gas, I heard a slight knocking. It seemed like the noise when you close a cabinet door, and it bounces slightly. It's hard to explain the noise. I listened really closely, and did it again. Same noise. I shut the truck off, and looked around. I turned it back on, and it seemed to hesitate around 200 rpm for a split second before getting back up to 1100. I gave it gas again, and same noise. I shut it off, got out, and saw white smoke around the rear of the truck.