Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

HI Everyone! The Build of my '96 F150

Old 05-06-2011, 11:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HI Everyone! The Build of my '96 F150

HEY EVERYONE!

My names Rich.

And I just finished my degree in economics which means I now get to finally spend $$$ on my truck hahahaha

It’s a long awaited present to myself! I got the truck back in high school when i was a sophomore, and have always wanted to throw a lift on it! I decided to wait till I finished college and now I'm finally done! Woo hoo!!!

So I have a ’96 F150 302 5.0 Liter 4x4 XLT SuperCab in which I love to DEATH!
I am wanting to throw a 6inch lift on it and either the BFG KM2’s or the A/T 35/12.5/R15’s!

I’ve done plenty of research but by posting this, I was hoping to be steered in a little better direction as I am about to lift my truck.

I really do no off roading, maybe every now and then taking the dirt bike out to the normal spot where it might some dirt roads, and really only use 4x4 in snow! Sadly it’s only going to be an “on-road” truck.

I was considering the Rough County or Tuff Country lift because of the inexpensive appeal. I have a buddy who works at a local shop who can hook me up with the pro-comp stage 1 for $750ish bucks and the Stage II for about $300 bucks more. Is it really worth to spend the extra $200ish bucks on the pro-comp lift rather than the other “cheaper” lifts?

Other than that here are a few questions:

Since it’s a 5.0 liter, I might have to re-gear because my truck is kind of a dog…163,000 miles on it...
-HOW DO I FIND OUT WHAT GEARING I HAVE?

With lifting it 6 inches, I might need to replace my brake lines.
- Do I do it if it’s only going to see road?

With the possible problems of the “Notorious IFS” should I spend the extra money and get the longer pitman/radius arm brackets?

-If I’m only going to drive on the road 99% of the time?