Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

Help Please, Fan/Belt/Antifreeze

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2008, 05:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help Please, Fan/Belt/Antifreeze

91 F150 4.9l
Last night about 3 blocks from home my engine started to make some horrible clanking sounds. I pulled over, shut the truck down and inspected what I could at 11:30 in freezing weather, looked like the fan had a little play and the belt was sliding up and down around the fans pulley a little bit. It started up, drove it to my street, on the way down my street I heard the last clank, I put it in park and went to check on it today

Right now there is a puddle of coolant on the ground, the belt is wrapped around the fan. Im a medic not a mechanic, I dont have a book on the truck so I really dont know what im doing. I did some reading around here, I guess its a fan bearing or something around those lines that caused the fan to wobble - ok fine I will keep searching for a How-to on correcting that issue. The belt needs to be replaced, fine, I will do a search for that also... but the antifreeze leak is what has me worried to death. I only spent a couple minutes out there because everything is covered in snow but it appears to be leaking from something to the left and below the fan - any ideas at this point? I will head back out there and try to get to the bottom of this - im lucky to have the 26th off but the truck needs to be running by the 27th. Any help you guys can give would be greatly appreciated
Old 01-25-2008, 05:40 PM

Ok, I *think* the antifreeze is leaking from the radiator return hose , the belt could have grabbed it and cracked it (I hope thats the issue). The belt itself looks brand new, it makes sense because it was replaced not long ago