gas gauge - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



gas gauge

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-12-2011, 05:37 PM   #1
Wondertwin2
Thread Starter
 
Mr.Distance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default gas gauge

My gas gauge doesn't work. The rest of the cluster works fine, I'm wondering if it could be wiring, or if it could be in the tank?

The gauge moves, however it never goes below half a tank. When electrics are turned on, the guage kicks on and zips over to way past full, no matter how much gas is in the tank. When electrics are turned off, it kicks off, but moves back down so slowly I can leave and come back a half hour later and it won't be back to around a half tak, where it likes to sit. I'll attach a clip of it in a little while, once I can take one.

Any ideas? Guessing for gas is starting to get annoying, and I can't figure out my mileage to watch on the trip odo, for fear of being stuck on the side of the road :/.
Mr.Distance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 05:39 PM   #2
We'd do it
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,633
Thanked 421 Times in 377 Posts
Default

It's the fuel level sending unit, just like every other one of these trucks. Very common problem. Mine is over full until about 2 or 3 gallons left then it drops to E like a rock.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 05:44 PM   #3
Wondertwin2
Thread Starter
 
Mr.Distance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is replacing that simple, or more annoying than guessing for gas, in your opinion? Mine stays past full, never drops to E, wish it did...
Mr.Distance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:02 PM   #4
We'd do it
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,633
Thanked 421 Times in 377 Posts
Default

Mine hasn't worked in all the years I've owned the truck, but when I first got it I was able to calculate my mileage because both tanks worked. Now if I run out there's no switching to the other, which by the way killed my fuel pump running out of gas in that tank all the time. Since I have to change that pump I'm going to get the whole assembly with sending unit so that tank reads, whenever I get around to fixing it. Probably won't until the other tank pump goes out.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 08:43 PM   #5
lost my Car again...
5 Year Member
 
TheCollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Auburn Maine
Posts: 6,311
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WW302 View Post
Is replacing that simple, or more annoying than guessing for gas, in your opinion? Mine stays past full, never drops to E, wish it did...
have you ever removed the gauge cluster? there is also a way to reset the gas gauge i had to when i put in my tach. put the needle as far left as i can go turn on the ignition then shut it of once it hits the red under the e it should reset its self.
TheCollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:01 AM   #6
Wondertwin2
Thread Starter
 
Mr.Distance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've moved the needle around, didn't know about the little ignition trick... I'll be trying that after work tomorrow, I suppose!
Mr.Distance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:13 AM   #7
We'd do it
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,633
Thanked 421 Times in 377 Posts
Default

That's not going to work. The gas gauge doesn't reset.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:24 AM   #8
Wondertwin2
Thread Starter
 
Mr.Distance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

...Nevermind
Mr.Distance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 01:18 AM   #9
We'd do it
5 Year Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,633
Thanked 421 Times in 377 Posts
Default

You can try if you like, but I've never heard of that.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 01:30 AM   #10
Wondertwin2
Thread Starter
 
Mr.Distance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I think I am gonna give it a shot, just in case... I was gonna check my chiltons and see if it had any say, but it's in the truck, and I'm nice and warm inside... I googled it though, but nada. If it works, hey, we both learned something new.
Mr.Distance is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Truck - 2003 F-150 XL SuperCab Bi-Fuel Blenderite 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 77 05-12-2016 10:18 PM
Engine dies on freeway. Crank but wont start. jimmymunce Electrical 3 09-24-2015 09:31 PM
2013 F-150 Gas Gauge issues Ford_runner 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 19 09-24-2015 04:41 PM
2001 F150 oil pressure help! jtimme 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 5 09-19-2015 04:01 PM
4.9 Carb Fuel Guage Problem. Unique? 1986Ford4.9 General F150 Discussion 6 09-16-2015 06:37 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com