fuel pump fuse - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Pre-1997 F150 > 1987 - 1996 F150
Log In 


fuel pump fuse

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2009, 06:08 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default fuel pump fuse

my truck died while I was driving home. After checking a few things, I found a fuse under the hood that must be for the fuel pump that was blown. I replaced it, and my truck started. After a few minutes of driving, it died again. It blew the fuse again. Anyone know where it could be shorting out at?
risler101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join F150 Forum

Join F150Forum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford F150 fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford F150 Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Ford F150 fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your F150 you'll find that F150Forum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join F150Forum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 02-01-2009, 02:29 AM   #2
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,295
Thanked 410 Times in 366 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

It could be shorting anywhere, but one good spot comes to mind. When the fuel pump starts to seize up it can blow the fuse. Has it been noisier than usual lately? Does it blow when using the other tank if you have duals?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 09:50 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default fuel pump fuse

I haven't noticed any more noise from the fuel pump, and yes I do have dual tanks. It pops when I use either tank. I am thinking maybe the wire from the fuse to the switch may be bad. Any thoughts?
risler101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 09:59 PM   #4
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,295
Thanked 410 Times in 366 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

Since either pump will blow the fuse then the short should be somewhere between the switch and fuse. Possibly even the switch. You can bypass the switch and run on one tank to see if the fuse stops popping, then you will know if the switch is bad.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 09:59 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default fuel pump fuse

No, I haven't heard any loud noises from the fuel pump, and I do have dual tanks. The fuse blows when I used the other tank too. I am thinking the short may be between the fuse and the switch. Any thoughts on that?
risler101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 10:02 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I will try that tonight and see what happens. thanks so far.
risler101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 10:46 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

any easy way to remove the fuel switch button?
risler101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 01:28 AM   #8
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 32,295
Thanked 410 Times in 366 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

The surround it attaches to just pulls off but you have to remove the headlight **** by pressing the button on the side of the switch and pulling it out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.