Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

F-150 wont start

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2009, 11:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F-150 wont start

hi i am new to the f-150 world to tell you the truth i dont own one yet. there is a 1996 f-150 2wd with the 4.9L straight 6 with automatic for sale near my house. It has 250k on it and the guy says it ran great then it stopped running and a friend put a new distributer in it and it ran for a little while and then he put it away for the winter and it wont start now. I took a look at it hooked a battery up and the truck turns over normally doesnt have a irregular noise when cranking like low compression. I checked the spark and it does have spark and i even gave it a small sparay of either right on the butterflies and it doesnt even pop. I hear the front pump run when i cycle the key and it shows 1/4 tank then i switch to the rear tank and cycle the key fuel level drops to E and pump doesnt run. So basically i need a picture of the distributer cap and where cylinder 1 is on it and i need to kno how u guys check fuel pressure i have a fuel pressure tester but the shrader valve on the truck is the size of a valve stem on a tire/rim. The guy wants 300 obo for his truck so i figure i can get it for 200 and th cab is solid and the driverside cab corner is just getton a quater size hole through it but other than that is has no rust on the cab and just a little on the wheel wells. any help will be greatly appreciated thanks a million
Old 04-20-2009, 12:06 PM

That's a good deal, I say go for it.

Here's a picture of the distributor setup.

If you've got spark and fuel but the engine won't run, that points to compression as your problem. Could be a stuck valve or something.
Old 04-20-2009, 03:15 PM
We'd do it

Received 448 Likes on 402 Posts