Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Pre-1997 F150 > 1987 - 1996 F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2010, 01:02 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation DTC Code 63 TP circuit below minimum voltage

I did the KOEO test and pulled code number 63. Does this code mean the tps sensor is bad. i checked for reference voltage and had 5 volts going to the sensor. the only thing i noticed its that the idle is around 1000 rpm where as it used to be around 700 rpm... i dont know how the sensor just went bad , because i originally went in to replace a set of fuel injectors and obviously had to take off the upper intake manifold. and when i started had no check engine light on, but after reassembly that code was thrown. Any Feedback is great appreciated thanks.!
92F1504X4EXTCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 01:22 PM   #2
Assistant Administrator
5 Year Member
 
ymeski56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Beach Calimexifornia
Posts: 31,004
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 51
Thanked 587 Times in 345 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92F1504X4EXTCAB View Post
I did the KOEO test and pulled code number 63. Does this code mean the tps sensor is bad. i checked for reference voltage and had 5 volts going to the sensor. the only thing i noticed its that the idle is around 1000 rpm where as it used to be around 700 rpm... i dont know how the sensor just went bad , because i originally went in to replace a set of fuel injectors and obviously had to take off the upper intake manifold. and when i started had no check engine light on, but after reassembly that code was thrown. Any Feedback is great appreciated thanks.!
See what you have returning from the sensor (jumper to the hot side, read the return side). Also recheck your "going to" Voltage while wiggling the wires to see if voltage drops out intermittently or changes.
__________________
"Saving the World....One Ford Truck at a Time."
ymeski56 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 02:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

thanks for the input i will go out and try that . i checked on tps prices thier not expensive but i dont wanna throw money at something that might not actually be bad. I cant remember for sure but are the TPS sensors adjustable? i think some are. i guess i will just have to look n see, but thanks again!
92F1504X4EXTCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 02:43 PM   #4
Assistant Administrator
5 Year Member
 
ymeski56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Beach Calimexifornia
Posts: 31,004
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 51
Thanked 587 Times in 345 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92F1504X4EXTCAB View Post
thanks for the input i will go out and try that . i checked on tps prices thier not expensive but i dont wanna throw money at something that might not actually be bad. I cant remember for sure but are the TPS sensors adjustable? i think some are. i guess i will just have to look n see, but thanks again!
Some are, mines not. The adjustable ones have elongated slots to allow 13 degrees rotation. If you do have an adjustable, you might have easily bumped it. They're a bear to get to the screws. I think the screws on mine were tamperproof stars, I needed a dinky 90 degree ratchet bit wrench. You might be able to tweek it w/ pliers, if bumping it knocked it out of position. They're not expensive, but I'd pay 5 times as much, if they were as easy as an IAC to change. It's at least a 2 beer project!
__________________
"Saving the World....One Ford Truck at a Time."

Last edited by ymeski56; 02-11-2010 at 02:47 PM.
ymeski56 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Yea i will probably end up taking off the throttle body, because i dont think i can access the screws any other way.. its too bad is not as easy as an IAC cuz i just had to replace one on my mustang and it took 2 mins
92F1504X4EXTCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 03:44 PM   #6
Assistant Administrator
5 Year Member
 
ymeski56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Beach Calimexifornia
Posts: 31,004
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 51
Thanked 587 Times in 345 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92F1504X4EXTCAB View Post
Yea i will probably end up taking off the throttle body, because i dont think i can access the screws any other way.. its too bad is not as easy as an IAC cuz i just had to replace one on my mustang and it took 2 mins
And if it needs another adjustment, take it off again. I'd try tweeking it first. you might get lucky. If not, nothings lost! Doesn't take much. 13 degrees is the entire range. This assumes it is adjustable. Either way, no loss. Take off the T/B, you have to worry about reseating w/o leaks again. But, it's your party! & ............................Good luck, however you decide! Just thing to to keep the "Pain in the *ss" threshold low.
__________________
"Saving the World....One Ford Truck at a Time."

Last edited by ymeski56; 02-11-2010 at 03:50 PM.
ymeski56 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 04:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

i just pulled off the throttle body and removed tps, i started looking at the connector on the end of the actual sensor and the 5v reference wire pin was pulled out just enough where when i plugged it into the vehicle wiring harness it wouldnt make contact so i forced it back out made sure that it didnt move when i plugged it back into the vehicle harness.... long story short is its all fixed i must have pulled the wire a little when i unplugged it this morning , i guess sh*t happens. but thanks again for the input i really appreciate it.

ps. mine wasn't adjustable
92F1504X4EXTCAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 04:00 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimum Brake Pad Thickness? coblue 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 4 07-16-2009 11:04 PM
not the voltage regulator mouth21 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 0 06-15-2009 05:03 PM
Overdrive Cancel Circuit eyebound 1987 - 1996 F150 2 06-25-2008 02:28 PM
Stock Voltage Eagle Kammback 1987 - 1996 F150 9 01-16-2008 07:22 PM
voltage fluctuations alexlifeson2 1987 - 1996 F150 2 12-10-2007 03:54 PM

Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.