Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Pre-1997 F150 > 1987 - 1996 F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Garage Photos FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read StoreVendor Directory

Welcome to F150 Forum!
Welcome to F150 Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 09:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lethbridge Alberta
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 95 f150 e40d Shifting Problem

Hey guys i have a problem with my shifting on my f150, it is a 1995 ford f150 5.8L 4x4, my problem is it is shifting hard is most all gears, and downshifts hard at times as well, if i start my truck and drive it normally it shifts hard and the OD light flashes, if i start my truck and just put it into 2nd gear and drive around the OD light flashes after hitting like 3500 rmp like there is a code to be read, i brought it to a small shop that can read it for me and the truck didn't bring up any codes for him. Another thing is right after starting my truck and holding down the brake and just going though the gears it shifts nice with no clunking or banging, but if i drive it around for a little and come back home and do the same thing with my foot on the brake and going though the gears it shifts hard into reverse and hard back into drive. Also my speedometer is bouncing around as well, i dont know if that is why it shifts like this or not. I have tried changing the Speed Sensor and that didn't help with the shifting or the bouncing speedo, just wondering if anyone has had this problem or has anything for me to try. Im not by any means knowledge in mechanics but i can try anything that isn't to hard if you have any suggestions for me, i just dont want to bring it to a Transmission shop and have them change me up the *** or just say i need a new transmission if that isn't the case.
bphillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 11:51 PM   #2
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 29,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 29
Thanked 330 Times in 295 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

If the computer isn't receiving the signal from the VSS then the transmission won't shift right and the speedometer may not work correctly, so you were good starting there. A very common problem with these trucks is the wiring to the VSS, usually bad near the plug at the sensor.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:19 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lethbridge Alberta
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I just went and checked the VSS wire just before it plugs in and there is green corrosion i can see, could that affect the signal? should i take the wire out of the plastic weather shied and see if there is any breaks or something further up the line? on another forum on this site people were saying to run a whole new line but i don't wanna do that if i don't need to. Also a forum was suggesting the Exciter Ring in the rear, could that be the culprit. I have been searching for days trying to figure out what to do, i almost ordered a rebuilt transmission just yesterday but for some reason i think thats not what is needed, thanks for responding and trying to help out a fellow F150 owner
bphillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 01:57 AM   #4
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 29,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 29
Thanked 330 Times in 295 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

Yea man, the green crap is the problem. Go back until there's no more green and change the wire.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 02:06 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lethbridge Alberta
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

ok ill try in the morning, should i replace the wire or just try to clean the green crap off? what should i clean it with?
bphillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 03:02 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
electropaulie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kamloops BC, Canada
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Sounds more a throttle position sensor issue to me. If the computer thinks your foot is on the gas a bit, the torque converter clutch won't lock up. A new TPS fixed the exact same problem for me. It will also give you a rich air/fuel mixture if it thinks you're giving the pedal a little push when you're not, which may be the cause of your jumping.
As an electrician, I can tell you that if that green wire isnt broken yet, it's still conducting. Not that it doesnt need to be replaced, but inside that corrosion there will still be good copper.
__________________
ElectroPaul
---------------------
"We have more to fear from the bungling of the incompetent, than from the machinations of the wicked."
electropaulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 03:23 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lethbridge Alberta
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

ok ill check that out, nub question here, where is the throttle position sensor? And is it something i wanna buy new? or can i just go get one from an auto wrecker? Also do you know if there is any way of checking to see if that is the culprit?
bphillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 10:35 AM   #8
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 29,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 29
Thanked 330 Times in 295 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

I did say change the wire. The TPS isn't going to make the speedo go wacky. Don't make it harder than it is man, change the bad wires.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 03:19 PM   #9
You Talking to ME!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norman, Oklahoma
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just call me Sean View Post
I did say change the wire. The TPS isn't going to make the speedo go wacky. Don't make it harder than it is man, change the bad wires.
I had same problem till I changed the TPS..all good now..but my speedo wasnt wiggin out..just super hard shifts..

I ended up just changing the IAC and TPS.. $100 bucks and 30 mins..

Last edited by willtransco; 05-15-2010 at 03:33 PM.
willtransco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:23 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lethbridge Alberta
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

ok i was under my truck following the wire back up to the front and there is this black wire just wraped and taped around the side steps, so i followed it up and it went into the truck behind the peddles into this little black box thing, it like a wiring harness box, it went into something called the shutdown input number 7 or 8 in the picture it was a grey wire, i dont know what it is or if its important or not, let me know what you think?
Attached Thumbnails
95 f150 e40d Shifting Problem-pic1.jpg   95 f150 e40d Shifting Problem-pic2.jpg  
bphillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 05:23 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
95 f150, e40d, shifting problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to diagnose a shifting problem jay anthony 1987 - 1996 F150 15 02-07-2010 05:28 PM
96 f150 e40d problems!!!! chadalac 1987 - 1996 F150 12 02-02-2010 11:08 AM
Shifting Problem wmauctions 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 0 01-07-2010 12:51 PM
E40D Shifting, is there a programmer out there to compensate for bigger tires rustybarnard440 1987 - 1996 F150 0 12-02-2008 02:13 AM
'95 shifting problem viperbaron 1987 - 1996 F150 2 01-31-2008 04:18 PM

 

The Mustang Source

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright © 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.