Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

95 F150 5.0L codes 556,558,332

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2016, 08:15 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 95 F150 5.0L codes 556,558,332

I've been doing my own repairs for over forty years and have done just about anything you could imagine,but these codes have me at my wits end! Here is a kinda of summary of what I have done.
Did all the electrical checks at evp,evr,pcm and all checked out good.
Checked the egr valve and it functions good.
Removed the upper intake and completely cleaned it out.
Checked soup can and it holds vacuum
Checked input vacuum at evr and have 20hg at idle.
replaced hose from output of evr to egr valve.
I went ahead and replaced the evr and evp
Removed the pcm and opened it up to look for anything odd, all looks good.

The 556,558,332 are all KOEO codes
The truck starts,idles and runs good, this stupid CEL will not go out because of the egr circuit.

Okay now to my question, when back probing the voltage at the evr I get 14.06 at idle and as I increase the rpm the voltage drops to as low as 8.86.I have the mulimeter red lead back probed to the evr and the black lead to the negative side of the battery.
Is this voltage drop normal as I increase rpms or not?
Thanks for any help,Jerry

Last edited by herbie7; 02-07-2016 at 08:49 PM.
Old 02-07-2016, 09:10 PM
Martin

Received 257 Likes on 221 Posts

I'd pull the vacuum harness off and bench test it, I'd bet there is a problem somewhere in the lines.

I run a cam and am at higher elevation so only produce 15hg at idle. I get codes similar to yours. I have a vacuum line running from the manifold tree to the evr, this clears codes. If all else fails this would work.
Old 02-08-2016, 08:03 AM