Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

302 long block source recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2016, 10:17 AM

Received 43 Likes on 38 Posts

Default 302 long block source recommendations

I'm in need of a replacement for the 302/5.0L in my 94 4x4 that just suffered a broken crankshaft.

In my case I'd prefer to just replace it with a long block and move everything else over. Being a daily driver I'd rather not have it sitting in someone's garage while they "wait on parts", if you know what I mean.

Anyway, I've done the usual web searches for such opinions but all I find are many years old. I've also gotten no solid recommendations for local providers. So, to start fresh....

Where would you recommend someone obtain a high-quality 302 long block?

The needs to be the truck version, of course, not the Mustang version. Minor improvements would be welcome, but no need for fancy performance additions.

Thanks.
Old 07-19-2016, 10:25 AM

Received 489 Likes on 436 Posts

Summit racing has a pretty substantial catalogue - there is a guy here is who is doing a 408 stroker swap (check the bottom of the page) that he ordered from Summit. Don't know if it will turn up what you want but worth a shot.
Old 07-19-2016, 02:19 PM

PS. Anyone know who provides the "Famous Brand" long blocks at Rock Auto?
Old 07-22-2016, 08:06 PM

"Famous Brand" at RockAuto is SureFire which is also the same brand available from AutoZone.

SureFire (AutoZone) and Spartan (Advance Auto Parts) and Powertorque (O'Reilly's) are brand names from ATK/VEGE. Napa uses the ATK name with the same part numbers as the others.

Hiperformer is a brand of S&S Manufacturing, Inc.

=============================

So, what's you're preference:

SureFire/Spartan/Powertorque/ATK
Hiperformer
Tri-Star
Jasper
Other

Last edited by seschenburg; 07-22-2016 at 08:11 PM.
Old 07-23-2016, 08:43 AM

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts