Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

1996 F150 Inline 4.9L head gasket troubles. (Long w big pic)

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2008, 09:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 F150 Inline 4.9L head gasket troubles. (Long w big pic)

I started having trouble with my truck overheating. This soon progressed into my tailpipe POURING out white smoke. I figured it was my head gasket, (yay). I’m no mechanic, so tearing my truck down to this point was quite an experience. Anywhoo, got it all torn off and found anti-freeze in one of my cylinders, (pretty sure that isn’t supposed to be there.) So I cleaned my head and engine block really well, installed a new gasket, torqued it like I was supposed to (about 80lbs each), and put everything back together.

After I’d installed the top part of the intake manifold. I couldn’t remember where all the little tubes went. I put it back together the best I could figure, and decided to try and start it.

It will barely start, and when it does, it feels like the timing is off and it’s dumping gas into the engine when it’s not supposed to. I can gun the engine, and it sounds better, but when I let it idle it eventually dies. I think I have something hooked up wrong. I’ve taken a picture and circled everything I think I may’ve hooked up wrong, and was going to see if there is some kind soul that owns a 96 F150 that would be willing to check their engine and see if I’ve got things where they're supposed to go.

On top of that problem, white smoke is still POURING out of my tail pipe. I checked the head for cracks and didn’t see anything. Is there anything else that could be causing this? I'm frustrated, and driving my convertible with a broken top to work is getting really old...

I REALLY appreciate any advice I can get. From now on, I’m keeping a digital camera and taking pics of my engine as I take it apart.

Pic Index.

1.) White tube hooks into a T.