Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

1996 F150 5.0L No spark. Starts when it wants too. why?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2010, 07:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 F150 5.0L No spark. Starts when it wants too. why?

Hey guys. This is my first time on here. I hoping someone can help me out. Ive go a 96 F150. Over the last year or so the truck wont start sometimes and when i turn the key on and off alot it finally starts. I did a tune up like 5k before this started to happen. Recently, the truck won't start at all. So i did a simple spark test and i have no spark. This was on Wed. Today, it started fine. So i got a coil and replaced it and now i got no spark again. Also its been cold out here in jersey the last couple weeks and it seems like when its cold it wont start but when its warm does start. I don't know if that has anything to do with it or not.

I need some ideas here. Ive been told its the EEC on the fender. Someone told me its the coil. (obviously thats not it). And also its the pickup coil in the distributer. How can i test the EEC to narrow the problem down a little before i just start changing parts? Or test the coil to make sure thats working even though its new? Any help is much appreciated.
Old 11-26-2010, 09:24 PM

Received 211 Likes on 191 Posts

Welcome to the site!

1996 is a bit foreign to me - same relative generation, but on the threshold of OBD-I versus OBD-II. Perhaps user Sean or ymeski or others more knowledgeable can help here, as far as the accepted forum minimum of pulling codes.

The vehicle was designed to start each and every time without exception - cold / hot / raining / Cowboys loss becomes accepted fact / community organizer elected President / Korea implodes on itself, or whatever - just have to figure out what needs to be done to get back to that point.