Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

1996 F150 5.0 Custom Exhaust Help

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2016, 10:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1996 F150 5.0 Custom Exhaust Help

Hello all,
New member here, well first I was wondering if 96 f150's only had one cat (the pre cat) and then the resonator after that. I was looking under my truck and thats all I'm seeing.
Secondly I was wondering if I could replace both of those with a magnaflow pre-cat and a magnaflow high flow spun metallic without issues of a CEL. As of now I have a flowmaster 2.5 cat back system with dual outlets and its extremely quiet. I was just looking to get rid of the restrictive factory cat and resonator, make the truck sound nice, deep, and throaty, for a cheap price. Perhaps somebody has some knowledge that could help me here

I'm aware high flow cats run $70-$100 a piece.

Thanks for any help
Old 08-31-2016, 12:23 AM

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

If you just want to change the sound, do what the p/o of my truck did. Leave everything factory back to the cat. Cut off the rest. Weld on a small length of pipe with a 12" long cherry bomb and enough pipe after that to go just past the back of the cab to pass inspection. It has a nice deep rumble.

I may run it back to the bumper, though. My 50yr old ears enjoy the peace and quiet.
Old 08-31-2016, 07:20 AM

Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

Great question! I'll be interested to see what is said. I have a 92 with a Flowmaster cat-back system and I have trouble believing that a 24 year-old factory cat is still functioning properly and would be interested to replace it if it won't make the computer go nuts.
Old 08-31-2016, 03:34 PM

Originally Posted by rexter