Topic Sponsor
1987 - 1996 F150 Still running strong! Talk about your 8th and 9th generation Ford F150 trucks.

1988 f150 help!

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2015, 12:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1988 f150 help!

I'll make this as short and as plain as possible. First off im a old school mechanic,,if it has fire and fuel itll run, and if one or the other is missing, i knew how to fix it.
Now to the meat of the situation..I have a 1988 F150 with a 302 EFI. It was running perfecty untill one day i shut it off to get fuel. Only way i could get it started after that was with starting fluid, and once it started it would restart all day long on its own.
Things have progressed after 3 visits to differant mechanics shops. Now it will only start with starting fluid no matter how many time you try and start it, also it doesnt have hardly the power to pull itself now. Theres a humming coming either from fuel line or return regulator or somthing now.
Pumps in both tanks are good an have plenty of fuel in them. Have changed the fuel filter,crank sensor,air temp sensor, throttle position sensor, cleaned throttle body,has new cap, rotor, wires and plugs. Injectors show good,fuel pressure is up around 40.
Ive read on this problem untill my eyes are about to bleed and have checked or had checked all that has been suggested on differant site.
This truck is definately worth saving as body and interrior is in emaculate condition, im just at a loss as to what to do or have done next.
Any and all help is appreciated,,Thank you
Old 10-09-2015, 06:14 PM

Received 212 Likes on 192 Posts

Have you checked the timing, if for nothing else, just to eliminate this possibility? If you're not familiar with this era, the SPOUT connector needs to be pulled first in order to get an accurate timing reading.

How strong is your spark? Nice and bluish-white, or puny and yellowish-orange?